Frenchman’s Creek|| Book Review

Frenchman's CreekFrenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I can’t believe this was published in 1941. This was so so good.
4.75 stars.

I have never read Daphne du Maurier before but ho ho my god- this was so quick, addictive and adventurous?! It gave me inspiration, and I salute Maurier. I salute.

We follow Dona, a lady from London who has moved from the stuffy streets of the city to their country house with their two children. There she lets them be took care of by their nursemaid and she has some alone time, finding herself in the peace and quiet. She then soon discovers that a pirate has been staying in her room while the house has been vacant – who after her hunting – soon finds by the canal with his ship.

We follow their unlikely romance, Dona being swept into being a pirate and an unlikely death. This was suspenseful and Dona is such a strong sassy female character – questioning the values and rules of the society in that time. This is such a forward thinking book, it really surprised me in that respect – this book is a gem, and the story will definitely stay with me for a long time.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

