Sense & Sensibility|| Book Review

Sense and SensibilitySense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this re-read. So so much. Austen for me is always a staple but one I realise I hardly go to – not nearly as much as I should. Her writing is witty, satirical and romantic – and it’s one of the only times I will read a romance.

Sense & Sensibility is between two sisters- Elinor & Marianne Dashwood- we join them as their brother doesn’t give them a proper cut of their father’s late fortune, and they are settled in a house in the English countryside. Here we meet the notorious Willoughby and the stable Colonel Brandon. Through all the gossip from high ladies over high teas, the swashing of big dresses, the tears of broken hearts on hand written love notes we uncover secret loves, the swallowing of ones dreams and the realization that things are going to be alright in the end. Still as relevant today as she will ever be, Austen always makes me feel safe and cosy and S&S is my all time favourite from her.

When I first read this, I was 15 – but now I’m 24 I feel more for Willoughby than I did, I can see more silliness but also innocence in Marianne and I can also see how Elinor takes so much more in than she should and holds it firm. I admire her so much more after this read.

I always recommend this read as the first one to start with for Austen – *unless you like to go in publication in order which is also a great way to do it* but this one reads fast and the two sisters will come with you afterwards as they are very clearly two halves of one whole.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

