A Gathering of Shadows|| Book Review

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2)A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Help me. Help me.
oh god – my heart, my soul, my everything.
WHAT THE FUCK HAPPENED TO ME?!
V.E. Schwab doesn’t give about anyone’s feelings, just sweeps them under the carpet. I haven’t felt this bad over characters in ages but while I find the shards of my heart on the floor let me start from the very beginning.

A Darker Shade of Magic is safe. It’s getting to know the characters you start to love, it’s being in that world for the first time like Lila taking in everything.
You go into A Gathering of Shadows believing it’s going to be a similar ride- you know the ones which have the handle bars, and go nice and steady.

Nope, no safety bar and we are flipping over and over.
This book was a whirlwind. I can’t even describe how much I loved it and hated it for how it’s left me. I hate the fact the third book is at my other house – I have to wait until tomorrow to get it and that’s still long!

The pacing steps up a notch for this book, and it really is such a page turner – my heart was pounding so loudly in my ears – reality faded away so damn quickly!

We have our already friends from last time: Lila, Rhy and Kell. And then we meet the likes of Alucard in this book – who is definitely an interesting character.
So much happens- we have the games – which goes down a treat, and I enjoyed reading the combat, so rich and imaginative (foolish Lila thouuuugh)
But that ending… I feel light and heavy all at once, the black hole wanting to consume me every time I think about my beloved babies and I can’t carry on.

This continuation will hurt you, but my god – it’s more worth it than I can say. This book is a contender for one of my best books of the year. Already.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

