Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them || Audio Book Review

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find ThemFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Audio Book Length: 2.5 hours.

Being the first audio book I had listened to in a long time (like 15 years ago when I listened to Dolphin Diaries and Harry Potter) this was a refreshing change from the physical book norm.

Eddie Redmayne reprised his role as Newt, which was a really nice touch – and pleasing to the ears. I had read the original text book when it was released but as Eddie was narrating it I had to listen to it through audible.
We are taken through a foreword of Fantastic Beasts, and then the A-Z of the beasts, which give you their classification, appearance and facts.

My verdict: I really enjoyed it, I definitely thought I retained more from the audio than I did reading it all those years ago. The added sound effects really helped the immersive experience, helping the imagination to picture the beasts. I loved the references to the main series, my favourite being: Unicorn foals are gold until they reach the age of puberty and Golden Snidgets- gold rounded birds with beady red eyes and small wings were protected which led to them being replaced in Quidditch with the golden snitch.

As it was a non-fiction I did find it formulaic and in turn it was boring at some points – some information was lost. I feel this could be improved by having Newt speak off script about his thoughts on some of the beasts.
I would still recommend it, even if you’ve read the original text format- the added sounds and perfect narration from Eddie make it well worth your time.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

