Waking Gods| Book Review

Waking Gods (Themis Files, #2)Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, just wow. Sylvain Neuvel has done it again.

Waking Gods was an amazing experience to read, very much like it’s predecessor, I am in awe at how good it was. So far these two books have not failed me at all – I cannot praise this series enough. Though I am gonna try with Waking Gods.

Now I will say if you have not read Sleeping Giants to turn away now, this will have some spoilers, both for SG and WG – if you want a non spoiler review of Waking Gods then my first book review video will be up on my Youtube within the next day or so.

Now for the meaty part.
We follow on from the revelation that Rose Franklin is in fact alive, just four years younger with no memory of what filled those four years.
She is out of sorts as you can imagine, and throughout the book she doesn’t feel she can live up to ‘the other Rose’ and debates her self worth to the point of pointing a gun to her head. She is needed of course, and her usefulness is pretty high as the turn of events around the world are catastrophic.

First of all a male robot shows up in the middle of London, without warning or destruction and just stands still. The military get involved to shoot it down in an unprovoked attack but the robot wipes out half of London in one white laser- just leaving a dirt crater behind.
Our characters from the first instalment Kara and Vincent who control Themis manage to take it down by close combat- destroying the alien robot’s shield.

Cue butterfly effect.

The events that follow kept my heart in my mouth the entire time, I read most of this book in one sitting, IT WAS THAT GOOD. Kara and Vincent finally being together and Kara softening up to him as ughgh everything.
The interviewer grew considerably more grey in this book, and some things he did were questionable to the point of me being very angry with him. But that’s probably my western moral compass.
We find out a lot about him in this book which pleased me greatly. He’s one of my favourites from the series, in short HE IS THE SERIES. He glues them all together. He found them all.

Neuvel isn’t afraid to hurt our favourite characters, that are near and dear to us. He isn’t afraid to make horrible things happen. He’s cruel that way, but I love feeling pain in a book. This was unbelievable pain I had to force myself to read over and over because I didn’t want to believe it.

I need the next one immediately. I need it.
I have so many more questions as the curve ball we were thrown at the end was mind blowing. I mean YOU CAN’T JUST DO THAT RIGHT NEAR THE END – WHAT ARE YOU?!
From where I stand these books are just going to get better and better, utterly un-put-down-able, and a once in a life time kinda read.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Waking Gods| Book Review

Leave a Reply

