This Disunited Kingdom| Review & Author Interview| Blog Tour

thumbnail_ThisDisunitedKingdom_BlogTourBanner

This Disunited Kingdom by Leslie J. Nicholls

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Firstly thank you to Austin Macauley Publishing LTD for sending me this copy for review and for inviting me onto the blog tour.

I also was able to send my questions to Leslie, so if you stay tuned until the end there may be some spoilers around the book. So I suggest if you don’t want to be spoiled do not read the interview at the bottom.

This Disunited Kingdom is set in a country far too similar to today. Set in 2020, the events that have unfolded from present day actions are freakishly familiar to happenings today and the decisions being made for the future.
Wrapped up in the political moves, kidnaps and terrorist attacks we have our main protagonists Sean and Farah who work in the Special Forces at Scotland Yard. We see the events unfold around them in a twisted ride that definitely throws some curve balls your way.

When I first started reading, I was surprised at how easy Leslie’s writing captures you in the moment. He definitely doesn’t hold back in his graphic descriptions, but for the opening chapter it was definitely explosive and page-turning. I enjoyed his descriptive style, it was easy to picture and quick to read. Also realistic in the way of imagining how the characters bustled around each other and how the scene played out.

Ava was a cute edition, even though we didn’t really see her other than virtually through Farah’s interaction over the phone.

I found the attacks/political unrest and kidnap really really hard to read, for the reason that they were written so well. There was unbelievable tension and when Farah was kidnapped in that room I actually had little hope for her. I was worried at Leslie’s brutal way of not being afraid to kill- and I worried for one of our main characters.

My gripe was the love scenes sandwiched in between the tension and serious attacks on the UK. I didn’t mind the odd one but after a while I was slightly annoyed at them continuing to ‘crash’ together in heated passion. I also found it a little sexist at times regarding Farah taking her career second and moving – and being able to ‘persuade him back to their world with her own ways’ uhgjgjfhg

Other than that the book pleased me, it was quick to read, tension ridden and a scary insight to what could happen if we keep on the dreary path the UK is on. It’s terrifying to see the end before it’s begun, and Leslie has written it believably well.

You can purchase it on Amazon here.

Talking Politics with Leslie J. Nicholls

thumbnail_Leslie J Nicholls

So after finishing This Disunited Kingdom I was able to send Leslie some questions, which he has kindly has been able to answer for me:

Q1: Where did the original idea come from, from being set in the UK, to the political unrest/changes?
The idea for the book came from endless hours listening to, and challenging news reports at home and abroad that, in my opinion, bordered upon propaganda. I felt that the problems with EU and the rise of Islamic Extremism, in particular, were exacerbated by the failure of successive government policies and self-serving politicians. I felt a burning need to expose these views in such a way that might encourage those less interested in current affairs to engage in the political conversation. By blurring the landscapes of fact and fiction, I sought to entertain, rather than educate.

Q2: Did you intend for Farah & Sean to end up together? Or did they grow closer as you wrote the book?

 I actually intended for Farah to die at the hands of the extremists following her kidnapping in a failed rescue attempt but I gradually warmed to the possibility of further developing their relationship. It really is awesome to have such power over life and death! Sadly, Sean’s gain was Rosie’s loss as somebody had to suffer when the investigation got a little too close to home.

 
Q3: Once you had the idea and the characters in mind how was the writing process for you? Was it fluid the moment you had written the first line or did you have to keep going back to the drawing board?
 I was pretty methodical in the plot process. I set out to develop five principal sub plots within the current political, economic and social landscapes. By introducing the Security and Emotional perspectives I sought to create light and shade, suspense and peril in a story that drew all those strands together in a pseudo factual narrative over a seven day time scale. I didn’t feel the need to go back to the drawing board but allowed my creativity to colour in the template that I created.
Q4: Heavy on politics and intrigue- is this a genre you would like to keep with?
It’s certainly fertile territory and I have been asked frequently when the sequel will be published. As a novice author, though, I want to challenge myself in other directions. My current project is rather lighter but still incorporates mystery, intrigue, peril and humanity. Set on a cruise ship, it again, draws together a set of seemingly unrelated themes into an intricate and, I hope, engaging plot that might appeal to a wider audience than a political thriller.
Q5: And finally, do you believe this could actually come to pass in the years ahead?
Many elements of the plot have already come to pass and other drawing closer as we speak. Brexit is happening, the Scottish independence debate continues, serious issues loom in Ireland with the unification process threatened by the Republic within the EU and the North out of it. Tensions continue to rise within the Islamic communities at home and abroad and serious questions are being raised regarding the ability of the UK to defend itself against new emerging threats, including an EU army to usurp NATO. New and diabolical acts of terrorism are witnessed every day with many unreported one thwarted by the intelligence services. There are different dynamics developing in our relationships with China and the U.S.A. The current Presidential elections in France threaten to destabilise our fragile relationship even further. The least plausible aspect, at the moment, might seem the emergence of UKIP as a potential partner in coalition government but as the political landscape changes, post Brexit, and domestic priorities evolve, there may well be a role for a less conventional political ideology. Only yesterday, the leader of UKIP declared that their manifesto was probably ten years ahead of its time which puts in right into my time frame. On the bright side, I still believe that love and humanity will survive and flourish.

About Leslie J. Nicholls

Leslie J. Nicholls has always held an inquisitive, borderline cynical, interest in the politics, morals and motivations of governments and their politicians.  As an avid observer of current affairs, national and international news he has developed an uncanny knack of predicting unfolding world events. Political writers like Gerald Seymour, Frederick Forsythe, Robert Ludlum and Sebastian Foulkes have inspired Nicholls to abandon a successful career in Sales and marketing to express this interest creatively in the publication of This Disunited Kingdom, a political thriller with a prophetic vision of post Brexit Britain.

Hope you enjoyed this review and the author insight into the strings behind This Disunited Kingdom! Have a great weekend!
Love, Em x

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

