Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants| Author Interview

If you haven’t heard of Sleeping Giants – where have you been?

Last year around April, this science fiction debut slipped onto bookshelves everywhere – and into many reader’s eager hands. Mine included.

This was one of my favourite reads of 2016, it was mysterious, fast paced and incredibly witty. Not to mention that the cover is gorgeous. So in my eagerness for Waking Gods I decided to email the lovely Sylvain Neuvel to ask him a few questions about his writing process and his thoughts on Sleeping Giants and today I have those answers for you!

 

So if you’ve been eagerly waiting on the next instalment this might curb your addiction jitters, or if you haven’t had chance to pick it up yet this will hopefully spur you on. So grab a cuppa, and let us settle down with the man himself!

How did you decide on the interview format compared to the traditional narrative style and did this make it harder or easier to write?

I wrote the first book for fun, because of my son. I wrote the entire prologue first, before I plotted the whole book. I thought about using a more traditional format, and switch characters between chapters but it didn’t feel right. Everything clicked into place when I figured out the interviewer. He’s not only an important character, but also the glue that binds the book, and the team together.

Did any characters surprise you as you wrote the book?

The Interviewer. He keeps pulling aces from his sleeve. He grew on me in ways I didn’t expect. He quickly became my favourite character.

 I found when reading Sleeping Giants it was a perfect mix of nostalgic science fiction and modern/futuristic science fiction – was this contrast something you were aware of?

I’m 45. I’m about as mature as a 12-year-old, but I’m mostly influenced by things I grew up with. I miss 70’s movies, where you could spend a lot of time with the characters. What I like most is when people manage to honour the past and put a new spin on it. Take Battlestar Galactica, for example. I really admire what Denis Villeneuve did with Arrival. It reminds me of Close Encounters of the Third Kind, but it’s truly a modern movie.

Who was your favourite character to interview, and why?

Kara, only because she’s the one who comes out most naturally. I love Rose, but she’s a scientist, so she means research. Kara just flows.

Will we know more about the interviewer in Waking Gods or is that TOP SECRET? (He was one of the best characters I’ve read considering he was never really interviewed and spent a lot of time asking the questions -he was superbly done! I’ve never gone from being mad at a character and disliking them to wanting to hurt anyone who insulted/upset them – the change happened without me realising)

Well, if you want to know more about him, you’ll be served with Waking Gods. Just be careful what you wish for…

If you wish to know more about The Themis Files check back here soon for more questions answered about Waking Gods!

In the mean time you can find both books here on Amazon:

Sleeping Giants – The first book in the Themis Files

Waking Gods– Released 6th April! The second instalment in the Themis Files!

I hope you enjoyed the interview- if you have any questions you would like to ask Sylvain regarding either Waking Gods, Sleeping Giants or his writing process feel free to write them down below and I shall include them in my email.

Happy Reading!

Love, Em x

 

7 thoughts on “Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants| Author Interview

    • WedgesofLemon says:

      Thanks for the mention! I am glad you thought to give it a read after that! So glad you enjoyed the interview and the book! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Waking Gods! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

