My Life had stood a loaded gun by Emily Dickinson| Poems Review

My Life Had Stood a Loaded GunMy Life Had Stood a Loaded Gun by Emily Dickinson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Emily Dickinson writes with a dark beauty and a heavy weight to her words.
For my first peek into her work, I discovered I was sucked into her emotional and dark portraits of death.

I had a couple of favourites, her imagery was really really well placed, and it certainly put a more realistic view on life and life’s happenings.

‘I took my power in my hand, and went against the world, ‘Twas not so much as David had, but I was twice as bold.
I aimed my pebble, but myself was all the one that fell. Was it Goliath was too large, or am I too small?

This was one here was definitely one that stuck with me when I continued reading the short selection.
I think to have a raw account of failure is bold enough because there are so many poems, and books about hope and achievement and motivation that the foundation of that – failure – and fear of is glamorised into the background. I felt Dickinson does an equisite job of writing those words down that we find hardest to face.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

