The Crown’s Game Book Review

The Crown's Game (The Crown's Game, #1)The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Imagine, and it shall be. There are no limits.

This book was a treat indeed. A treat straight from Ludmila’s pumpkin shaped shop!
I went into it thinking, okay standard magic, Russia, enchanters – political fight to be the best one etc etc.
Ho ho ho no.
This book was exquisitely written, Skye’s use of description, and choice of words were like music. So fluid and beautiful, it was like running your hands through silk.
Character wise, the main two were both lovable and both made questionable decisions -which made them a nice grey rather than both super good. They were real.
My favourite was Pasha- oh my baby boy, let nothing ever hurt you 😦
I enjoyed their dynamic, and didn’t really feel a love triangle as much as I have in other books, the trope was handled well – and didn’t make it about her choosing, rather she didn’t really know of a choice, or even felt like she needed to make a choice. It was just their love for her.

Overall, this read was surprising, extremely well written – I flew through this, and at the same time I didn’t want it to end. It was a very delicious cake that disappeared too quickly for my liking.
I cannot wait for The Crown’s Fate. I wish it was longer than a duology. BAH.
I am going to look for dream benches and coloured water.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

