Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) Book Review

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)Winter by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

”Yeah, but broken isn’t the same as unfixable.”

I have finally collected my thoughts to write a review of the fourth and final book in the Lunar Chronicles series. (Bar Stars Above, but that is only short stories)

I am sad in someways that this is over, I will miss Wolf and Scarlet, I will miss Cress and Thorne – I am pleased they ended up together.

But this book, compared to the others, was slightly lacking. Being the fact it was HUGE I expected more than the couple of pages of resolution we had after.
For instance: Winter’s story feels barely begun, I felt we didn’t even reach a height with her – she needed more time, and more story after the apple. Jacin also – I wanted more of them together as of now I feel Winter is deemed to a life of the crazy.

I also found this plot very formulaic, each pair seemed to either lose one another, or one would sacrifice themselves for the other. Or both would be hurt and may not see each other again. Over and over again. I enjoyed it a few times, it showed they were all their own weaknesses, it just… it wasn’t as impactful over and over. I wish there had been more time spent near the end than just the above.
Levena as a character was really well done, it was nice to see her internal jealous struggle, which fuelled her drastic motives, but it was sad that she thought she had Luna’s best interests at heart.

Overall, I enjoyed it, if I overlooked the same things happening, but the characters are all lovable (My Wolf jfgkgh and Iko!)

I am looking forward to reading the novellas, but I do feel cheated at the length that there should have been slightly more about the resolution. You go through that whole fight, you want a little more than just a thin blanket and light hug afterwards, right?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

