A Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book Review

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

That was an exhilarating read!

When I started reading this book, I was stunned at how beautiful the language was – it was so artistic, and yet incredibly conversational when we looked through Karou’s eyes.

This is my first introduction into Laini Taylor’s writing, and I found it intriguing through the conversations and the description how she easily entwined her world around it all. It was seamless, and I felt the imagery of Brimstone’s shop with the wishes lovely. The action was incredibly pleasing, and I was surprised and interested in the introduction of angel/seraph/chimaera lore. I went into the book without much knowledge to what it was about – this was a nice addition.
The doors opening to other worlds was really really good, visually I could see so much from her writing- descriptively she is top class.
I had a slight issue with the writing mid way through – it seemed to slow down for no reason and I felt after certain happenings Karou didn’t react for long about them – which was unrealistic.

But I am really really excited to continue reading this series – definitely one to finish very soon!

View all my reviews

One thought on “A Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book Review

Leave a Reply

