The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Book Review

The Watchmaker of Filigree StreetThe Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t know what I was expecting when I started this book, but it wasn’t this. I didn’t expect still have it on my mind hours after finishing it.

But I do – and here is why.

You start off in 1883 London, bombs are going off and people are on high alert. We follow Thaniel Steepleton who is saved by a mysterious pocket watch after a bomb goes off. This leads him to track down who made the watch and that leads us to our Mori.

Now I shipped these two like I don’t know what. I love where the book takes them, I could read so much more of them and Pulley did such a good job of not making it explicit – my heart was thumping when there were small touches here and there. My god.
They have jumped to being an OTP for me, I really really liked them and that propelled my love for this book higher. I felt plot wise she did try to do too much but I think the fact of this pairing made me so happy nothing else mattered.
Katsu was so damn cute, I loved it’s quirky little ways and liking to hide shiny things and socks in drawers, so cute!
I got annoyed with Grace, because she never seemed happy- she was as dreary as the setting in cold cold London.
There were touches of magic realism, as well as a steampunk nature that swept through the entire book – there was emotion, twists, mystery and detective play at hand.
A very different and diverse read- a must on your shelf.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

