Salt to the Sea Book Review

Salt to the SeaSalt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My heart feels heavy as I write this review. Ruta Sepety’s is a master at historical fiction and creating beautiful characters which are both very real and memorable.

4 characters POVs- all entwining around each other to make this tragic yet very real story come to life.
What happens in this book is true story and to write such a thing is very brave- the way Ruta does it is so confident and poetic that your heart aches with the tension it is under after reading.
I knew something bad would happen, I was wincing at every page turn. Some parts were incredibly graphic my stomach turned and I went cold all over – the same reaction I had with the Schindler’s List.

I cannot say many words because the tears falling down my cheeks are stopping me. There was loss, there was life and there was such tragic beauty in Salt to the Sea. I know it will resonate with me for years to come and has rightly so become one of my favourite books of all time. I dare you to read such a novel. It will never leave you.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

