The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events #7)

The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #7)The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

‘For sapphires we are held in here.
Only you can end our fear.
Until dawn comes we cannot speak.
No words can come from this sad beak.
The first thing you read contains the clue.
An initial way to speak to you.
Inside these letters the eye will see.
Nearby are your friends and V.F.D.’

Maybe it’s at this point that I actually get annoyed with the unfortunate events that are happening to the Baudelaires. Except for the focus on V.F.D we are thrust into a Vile Village where they want all three siblings to do the entire chores for the village. I sighed… I did sigh 😦
I did enjoy this book don’t get me wrong, I just was getting slightly annoyed (which I know is the point I mean we are only just half way through and Count Olaf is a menace.)

Character wise, Hector is fantastic with his secret library, and making a hot air balloon to escape. I found him a nice vivid character. I think I wanted to meet him in an adventure when I first read this at 6 years old.

The ending though was one of the most heart thumping ones where you were sure the siblings, the Quagmires and Hector were going to get away without Count Olaf being ahead of the game…

Alas… only half of that is true. The Quagmires sail off with Hector, and the Baudelaires escape on foot…. Count Olaf and the mystery reveal of Esme Squalor escape on a motorcycle- possibly following the Baudelaires….which I shall nothing until tomorrow when we read The Hostile Hospital.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

