Favourite Books I read in 2016!

2016 ended two days ago. The best reading year I’ve had in my entire life.

I have always loved reading since I was little and me and my mum used to go swimming, and then stop off at the library on the way home before grabbing fresh rolls for our sandwiches and then coming home to lunch and afternoon of reading. That was my weekends when I was young- ugh those were the days.

Since I got older, went to collage and then University reading for pleasure took a back seat. I felt bad but with assignments and trying to keep my flat clean with 5 boys kinda took it out of me. But since graduating, leaving the pub job I was in I have been able to read so much more! From my goodreads reading challenge I read a grand total of 46 books out of my 25 book benchmark – which I am immensely proud of. I mean I didn’t even think I would make the 25 mark let alone surpass it! It was a fantastic experience and I am so excited to continue this with you guys into the New Year – this blog has been fantastic to do, so thank you to everyone who reads when I post- it means a lot!

Now I shall get onto my top books I read in 2016!

Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss- Holy crap I loved this first book in the series, his writing is everything I want in life. His detail.. his characters…

name-of-the-wind

Cinder by Marissa Meyer- This was one my first books I read this year, and this retelling was gritty, grey and full of fierce characters.

Cinder+by+Marissa+Meyer+Book+Review

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton-  I love Jessie Burton. I think she is now one of my favourite authors. I loved The Muse as well but The Miniaturist has held me long after I turned the last page. Such a breath-taking read. Read it. Read her work.

dsc_7187

Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – I love this trilogy. I need the third and final part NOW. Like now. I love the characters, I love the world. The format. I cannot spread this series around enough. JKDHGFJK – I’ve realised I do this a LOT. It means I have no words so I bash the keyboard.

23395680

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake- Not what I expected but nonetheless it was SO GOOD. The world building, the concept. Everything was on point. And I loved it. Bring on the next one!

the-dark-crowns-book-cover

This Savage Song by V.E Schwab – Two characters, two sides of a city. Monsters. No romance. GREY CHARACTERS – YOU CAN UNDERSTAND ALL CHARACTERS. NO *EVIL* NO *GOOD* JUST PEOPLE. UHGHGG.

untitled208

Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir- I wanted to pick this up last year, but it ended up getting swept under the carpet. I wish I had, I loved this series. It was so so good. Like so good. Definitely exceeded my expectations.

an-ember-in-the-ashes

Me before You by Jojo Moyes – I cried so much when I read this. Oh my god. I love how it was set in the UK, I loved Louisa. Just Yes. SO MUCH YES.

jojo-moyes-me-before-you-main-image-960x450

The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah- Full of emotion. Family. Hard decisions and the hard times during the war for two sisters in Paris.

51d2bgdqhrkl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide- This was beautiful, poetic book. I love just how simple this was. It touched me and left me thinking for a long time after. Definitely a winner this year.

51yuz21spgl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This was my number one of the year. I haven’t had a book make me feel like this since Harry Potter. I love the characters, Ketterdam, the relationships -jghj Leigh Bardugo is a genius. This book is everything to me. Crooked Kingdom was THE most anticipated book for me after reading SoC and ugh. This book. This book set a high bar. So much love.

six-of-crows

So there are my top books of 2016 – it was so hard to narrow it down- There have been so many great books this year! I hope 2017 that continues in the same way!

Let me know what your top books were in the comments. I would be really interested to know!

Happy 2017 reading everyone!

Love, Em x

Leave a Reply

