What Light Book Review

What LightWhat Light by Jay Asher

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

If you’re looking for a slap up, quality Christmas dinner kinda book, look away.
If you want a take away, kinda festive because it’s in a snowflake bag with a Christmas peppermint hot chocolate- stay.

Now I knew this would be light, I hoped it would be fuzzy and charming and just a generic quick read.
What I got was…well… a good intention that just didn’t work out.

I loved the idea of it, but it was quite a dark idea for such a small book. I get one of the points was about the trouble of gossip and rumours, but really in this case – the rumours were like…nearly spot on- so you could kinda guess why the other characters were reacting the way they did?!!

I didn’t like the main character, I found her a bit Mary Sue-ish, and she also seemed to be a bit of a pusher, she literally got in involved in something that didn’t concern her in two weeks. And she was a bit of a bitch while doing it.
I was hoping for festive, but that lacked as well – the most festive bit about this book was the cover and the fact she worked on a Christmas Tree farm…
The words were SO CLUNKY. My god I do not need to know that she cut up her meal with a butter knife and fork, or that she was handed a hot chocolate and then PROCEEDED to put it down!! I mean shgjkdfhgdfjgh- we did not need to be spoon fed… I mean isn’t this classed as teen/YA fiction?!

I had so many other problems with this book, but if you’re looking for something quick, without need of much plot, random story lines and ‘okay’ making out surrounded by Christmas trees this delivers all of the above. Just expect to be spoon-fed on everything. Even things that aren’t relevant at all.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

