Three Dark Crowns Book Review

Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Three dark queens
Are born in a glen
sweet little triplets
                                     will never be friends

This was one of my most anticipated books of the year, so when I finally laid my hands on a copy in Florida, I was beyond excited.

I started reading it, and automatically got into the writing style, I liked the fact we didn’t have the name’s of the queens to separate the chapters, rather the place. It made my brain work a little harder and the change was extremely refreshing.

So many characters, but from a fantasy book, what do you expect? It was incredibly dark and in some moments, gruesome – but I thoroughly enjoyed this world Blake has built. I do think it was slightly slow at the start but as soon as we had a few chapters with each queen their lives started to integrate and entwine nicely. My favourite Queen is Arsinoe, I felt she was the most well written, and everything about her I loved. Jules was a fantastic character with Camden, and I loved Joseph as well- even if some of his story lines and motivations were a little repetitive.

Mirabella was alright, though she annoyed me with her thoughts and ties to Joseph. A particular moment between them was….eh… I didn’t like it. I know why it happened but I still didn’t like it.
Katherine was the queen I liked the least, her whole attitude was cocky and arrogant and I was pleased at her fall from grace…. heh.
Though her motivations now seem promising for the next book.
I was surprised we actually did not get on to ANY of the excursions to kill each other. We just made it past the first night of the Quickening and that was slightly disappointing. I know she used the first book to build the world, build her characters and place everyone in line for certain plot happenings but it just didn’t live up to what the blurb was.
Other than that, I am very much looking forward to One Dark Throne to see how these three paths come together. If you like fantasy, definitely put this one on your list!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns Book Review

Leave a Reply

