This Savage Song Book Review

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Taking this on holiday with me I didn’t expect it to be through this book so quick! It was an impressive quick read and the world building was just as good as a book with triple the pages! I loved the city of Verity, the switch between dark/light was impressive and I enjoyed Kate’s fearless first chapter where she burnt down the chapel and sat there watching it burn. It was a great way to introduce a character and fill her in as well. August was adorable, I loved him and his entire family – especially his sister and their relationship- which I will also add I liked the focus on!

Monsters in this book were almost fairy-like in the world that Schwab had created and were pretty scary to say the least. I mean, when can one of us say that we have never once been scared of the dark? It felt very Romeo/Juliet style without the romance and it was so SO good to read something with NO GOD DAMN ROMANCE. Not even a hint of it. NOTHING. One male, one female- surviving. Figuring something out. Not each other. I take my hat off to you, Schwab.

I am really excited for the next instalment and now I have tried her writing, I shall certainly be picking up her Darker Shade of Magic series!

It lost its star from a five because I would have liked more monsters? Like, their appearance was heavy but I felt there could have been more? More threat? Just a small thing.

Good holiday read!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

