An Ember in the Ashes Book Review

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

YASYSSYSSYSYS

This was a fiery masterpiece, and I was hooked for every second to it!
It played super fast in my head, like some sort of action packed Rome-esque film – so I can see why the rights for a film have been bought up so quickly!

I loved the duo POV throughout this book, and specifically as it was from each side, that was nice- the chapters rolled in together cleverly.
Sabaa also made you feel for everyone. You could see reasoning for everything and as you guys know that is one of the things I love about books – when it is realistic in terms of characters and their traits.
I am so pleased I decided to read this now, I didn’t expect to fly through it as fast as I did (It really took me two sittings? And most of that was today, snuggled in bed- it just wouldn’t leave my hands!!)

Elias was a great character and again, another crush I daresay brewing. The only thing I felt with this book (which is why it’s a 4 not a 5 outta 5) is that there are too many love ‘interests’, they seemed to all gravitate for one of our mains – and erhhh it was okay? Just maybe the one would have been alright 😉 Anyway, it wasn’t that big of an issue, it just wasn’t all round perfect.

Read this book if you liked The Hunger Games, Divergent etcetc – I think it’s slightly more adult than those – maybe two rungs up the ladder? But still as fast paced and addicting!! SO GOOD!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

