The Name of the Wind Book Review

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay. Give me a moment while I think over what to say about The Name of the Wind.

A moment would not be long enough because there is so much to say about this fantasy novel. You may be wondering why it took me so long to finish this book but I wish I was still reading it now. I didn’t care about taking my time with it because it felt like having a really good meal, slowly, so you can taste all the individual flavours and then together as one masterpiece. That is what this book was like.

When I first picked it up, I was apprehensive at the size, the font and the in depth detail I had heard Rothfuss had gone into. But in hindsight this book was perfect for me in every way. The characters are written addictively well, they feel real and in real situations.

The world building is fantastic, I can remember things from it and see it clearly as if it were Hogwarts or Panem or Middle Earth. The size has nothing to do with it – for me this book was easy to read because his writing was accessible, human and humorous.
I love detail about food, and I loved that every other page we knew what he was spending his talents on, or what he was eating – it was exciting to me because not many authors go into such detail.
Kvothe is now one of my book-boyfriends. I have a small to major crush on him and cannot wait to see what else lies in store (Kvothe as a man, not as the school boy heh) I love his relationship with Bast and how they work together – broke my heart a couple of times!

The fantasy aspect of the wind, and demons was also well done, it was believable, it was dark and it was easy to follow and track. Again another applause for Patrick Rothfuss. I am so pleased I found him, and his writing style because this story is a breathtaking debut into a new world. It’s not just some book to finish and forget about, this book has a whole world in it’s pages just waiting to be explored. And it is with great anticipation that I look for the next book A Wise Man’s Fear because the journey I am on is just too good to stop.

So I shall get comfortable because I know Kvothe has a few more good stories to tell.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind Book Review

Leave a Reply

