July Wrap Up!!

Hey guys!

So today is the day I wrap up my very VERY successful reading month of July! I don’t actually want this month to end as I feel in the second half of it I couldn’t stop reading. I was literally obsessed with picking up a book and finishing a book in one sitting. Oops?

So in total I read 11 books this month – I am so pleased! This also helped me complete my reading challenge! I know right? I guess I didn’t know how well I would be able to read in January when I made the goal but 25 books is well over-reached now! I know my TBR was hefty, and if I had been in the same mindset in the beginning of the month as I am in now I have no doubt I would have completed all of my TBR! Without further ado let us look over the month of July!

As there are so many I am going to picture display them here and then go into details about my favourites, and thoughts etc etc

 

I completed The Muse by Jessie Burton first as that was one of my most anticipated releases of this year- it was incredible – another superb work of historical/cultural fiction! She is one of my all time favourite authors.

Everything everything and The Unexpected Everything were fun, hearty contemporary reads – I thoroughly enjoyed them and found them quick to read!

Heartsong was a lovely book of music, illustrations and Venice- quaint, emotional and simplistically beautiful.

My less favourite read of the month was The Marvels by Brian Selznick – I had such high hopes for it, and I was just disappointed by the writing, it didn’t hold me like I thought it would. His pictures on the other hand were just immense and really enjoyable to turn the pages of.

I was also disappointed by Truthwitch. It was still a good book do not get me wrong, I just thought it would be more than it turned out to be.

TWO books surprised me majorly this month,  one of those being Illuminae which shot straight up to being my number 2 of the year (behind Six of Crows of course). It was fantastic. The format gripped me, as did the story – erghghgh my heart yearns for Gemina to hurry the f**k up.

A Court of Thorns and Roses also surprised me as I am not a massive fan of Sarah J Maas’s ‘Throne of Glass’ but I loved this one. I didn’t realise I was that addicted to the world when I caught myself wanting the sequel straight away. I’m also head deep in it now…oops.

I read the sequel to Queen of the Tearling this month ‘Invasion of the Tearling’ it was good, as you can see in my review I had some issues with it but that being said it still was very good and held a high standard in the quality of the writing.

As I loved Six of Crows so much last month I had to start the Grisha Trilogy this month. So Shadow and Bone was picked up and I loved it. Her writing style is getting so familiar and I am HOOKED. It’s my comfort blanket and I need to her to just keep pumping out books, hehe! Sorry Leigh, no holidays for you!

My last book I completed this month was of course, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. It was fantastic, and this was my top of the list anticipated book of the year. It was everything I wanted and I will be re-reading it and giving a more detailed review of it soon. So so so so so good!!!

So I am sorry that was so long guys, I just couldn’t stop reading!  😀 Stay tuned for my August TBR which is just as ambitious as last month, and contains the start of the Austentatious Book Club Read (Pride and Prejudice, HELL YEAH) so stay tuned for that coming tomorrow!

Have a good day guys, and let me know what you’ve read this month and what you’re excited to get to in the last month of summer! This year is flying by!

(P.S: A LARGE BOOK HAUL TO COME VERY SOON!)

Love Em!

 

 

Leave a Reply

