Shadow and Bone (A Grisha Novel: Book 1) Book Review

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow. That was one fast read! I think I read this book in just over two hours – I whizzed through. It was so good. I know I’ve only read Six of Crows but I was super happy to be reading Leigh Bardugo’s writing again! Just like a comfort blanket!

In this novel we meet Alina, who finds out in a tragic situation she has Grisha powers, and not just any Grisha, she is a Sun Summoner. She has to go meet the King as she is the only one who can breach the Fold and destroy the vulcra.

I am very pleased to find out the significance of the antlers now!

Now I thoroughly enjoyed this whirlwind of a journey. The characters as always which I think are Leigh Bardugo’s speciality were realistic, flawed and just addictive characters to read. I missed the POVs as that’s what I am used to from Six of Crows but I got used to Alina as our guide through the Grisha world. I really have enjoyed being back in this world again and learning more. I missed the Fjerdan calling the Grisha ‘witch’ at the end of their sentences, it made me miss Matthias so badly. September seriously cannot come quick enough 😦 Ergh I miss my crow babies.
Overall a satisfying, adventure thrilling read!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

