My Top 7 Books of 2016 SO FAR!

Hey guys!

So July is nearly over (sheesh, what’s happening to the year?) so I thought I would do my top 7 reads of 2016 so far! 7 for the 7 months that have gone, or in my eyes whizzed by!

ALSO before we get into it I’ve finished my Goodreads Challenge! WHOOP! Now I only set myself 25 books to read but I wasn’t expecting to read as much as I have done – but with five months left to go I could make it to fifty! Hehe!

With all those good books in mind, let me tell you my top 7 books of 2016:

Number 7

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon 

A beauty of a contemporary read, I read this double quick – and it was just brilliant. A grand debut from Nicola!

18692431

 

Number Six

Dumplin’ By Julie Murphy

Another Contemporary read which was done so well – I’ve never read a book where the thoughts of the main character mirrored my own – she felt like a soul sister I never knew I needed. This book is funny, meaningful and satisfying, what more could you want?

18304322

Number Five

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Fantasy done well – Erika had a feisty female protagonist with bite on a road made for queens. I loved this novel and am currently reading the second in the Tearling Trilogy (The Invasion of the Tearling)

51g3wlbgfol

Number Four

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

 Now I am surprised this has got so high in my list, now and in my expectation when I read it. I wasn’t impressed with the first few chapters of Throne of Glass but this book. Wow. Extremely thrilling and the romance was heat filled and enjoyable. I am thirsty for A Court of Mist and Fury and was from the turn of the last page and for that I hold my hands up and admit that this book was extremely well done. It’s still on my mind now, and I cannot wait to read the sequel.

9781408857861

Number Three

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

This felt like my baby book of the year. I love Louisa. I love Will. I love this book. I will re-read it at some point. But this book and film have been a big part of the year for me and reminded me how much I love my romantics. Such a good read – I am so glad it is in my life!

jojo-moyes-me-before-you-main-image-960x450

Number Two

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I was blown away by this book, the format, the characters, the pace- just unbelievable. I really couldn’t turn the page quick enough and it’s been on my mind almost every day since putting it down. Read this guys if you haven’t and if you have please let us gush about it together! Seriously amazing!

23395680

Number One

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I guess it’s no surprise this is at number one with how much I ranted and raved about it. I’ve made my partner read it, she’s made her friends at work read it, I’ve made my work pals read it – this book is beyond anything I’ve read since Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. It makes me smile so much and the characters are pure joy. Crooked Kingdom is now my most anticipated release of the year – it was a phenomenal piece of fiction. Best I’ve read in the last five years at least.

six-of-crows

So there you have it guys, there are my top 7 books so far in 2016! I would have liked to mention The Muse by Jessie Burton or Cinder by Marissa Meyer or even The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson but unfortunately there was some tough competition!

Let me know what your favourite books are so far this year! I would love to swap recommendations!
See you soon!

Em x

(P.S HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD COMES OUT IN TWO DAYS – I AM LITERALLY SO EXCITED FOR MY MIDNIGHT PICK UP!)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Top 7 Books of 2016 SO FAR!

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I loved Illuminae as well! Definitely one of my top books this year as well as A Darker Shade of Magic and ACOMAF XD How exciting your going to a midnight pick up! I’m just going really really early Sunday morning XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WedgesofLemon says:

    Illuminae just blew my mind, when I think about it I still get goosebumps! ACOMAF is my next but one book as I am trying to be strict on myself with my TBR – but I keep staring at it on my shelf! I know! Luckily my local bookshop are open that late for a party etcetc – Early in the morning is great though! At least you will have had a great nights sleep! :L

    Like

Leave a Reply

