Illuminae Book Review

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Illuminae by Amie Kaufman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hemhem.

I feel like I am gasping for air after the final pages of this book. IT WAS SO TENSE, SO EPIC – JUST EVENT AFTER EVENT – I didn’t have much chance to breathe throughout the entire thing!

The way the book is set out in emails, IMs, diagrams of the ships, camera footage, the AI’s inner thoughts – it was amazingly fast paced! You didn’t even realise it wasn’t in straight prose after the first few pages- it had you hooked! (With my heart pounding in my mouth!)
Kady was fierce, and Ezra was lovable and they both had hero tendencies and complex relationship issues – but through all that, you really rooted for them.
The death count was unbelievable, all those beautiful characters?!?! The authors certainly weren’t afraid to shock you, or hurt you – which I think made this book even better.

You feel suffocated while you read this, but the breath you take afterwards is like your first one on this earth and when you look up from the pages you realise the world around you has changed.
Completely epic, un-putdownable and a pleasure to read: this was fantastic.

Stay tuned for my next review!

Let me know if you’ve read this or want to read it – seriously if you’re on the fence because of its format- don’t hesitate. This book is phenomenal.

Happy Reading!

Em x

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Illuminae Book Review

Leave a Reply

