Truthwitch Book Review

Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

If I was able to give half stars I would give Truthwitch 3.5 stars- but my good reads doesn’t allow that so 3 stars it is.

This book started off slow, and I mean by page 88 I was like… hmmmm, kay I was expecting great things where is it? Don’t get me wrong Safi and Iseult were great characters, flawed and skilled and complimented each other greatly. I enjoyed reading their chapters. However, I didn’t care for Merik’s introductory chapter, it was slightly boring and even though now I’ve finished I can see reason for his intro – it could have been done a better way.

Now, as soon as we left Iseult’s tribe, with the cliffhanger of her mother and sister, the book picks up and I mean really picks up. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing from here on out and the events that take place are epic and adventurous. Merik’s character picks up brownie points with his relationship with his first man Kullen (who I really enjoyed as a supporting character- I wished his part had been bigger)
The fantasy in this was really enjoyable, I enjoyed reading the different colours of the threads of the witches and the monk’s ability with blood- all really well done.
I found the sexual tension very well done, I was fanning myself in those final pages- HOT DAMN.

I was annoyed with Safi near the end, that she didn’t think of Iseult more and she didn’t think of finding her – that she was happy to go to this new place and enjoying the sun- how and happy she had made bonds and trading stands with Merik and her uncle.
Meh.
I am excited for the next book which comes out in January next year, titled ‘Windwitch’

Read it, it’s an epic fantasy with excellent female characters who are flawed and easily likable.
Also she doesn’t write in black and white. Everyone is grey and I really really love that- I think it’s something more writers need to take heed on.

See you soon guys, happy reading!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Truthwitch Book Review

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I really liked these characters and I’m excited for Windwitch! I can’t wait to learn more about the different types of witches and what else they can do 😀 I think my favorite scene was the fight at the light house I couldn’t put the book down when that was happening 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

