The Marvels Book Review

The MarvelsThe Marvels by Brian Selznick

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

You either see it or you don’t.

I think that books saying is very apt for the book itself. I enjoyed the sketches immensely, he is extremely talented. To turn each page and to feel something from those pictures – incredible.

This is my second book finished for the Bibliothon – erghgehgghg 20 hours of work Tues through to Weds really put me behind 😦

The book is split into two time periods, and two timelines but linked through the same family. When we kicked off into the more modern family and into the written format, things slowed down.
Now the story was sweet, and mysterious but in some ways I found Joseph as a character extremely frustrating- if I were his uncle I would have chucked him out the next day!

It’s very different as a book, and I would recommend it because the pictures are beyond beautiful.

So this checks off the book I’ve been putting off – CHECK

If I do not finish all seven books I will say this one counts as my ‘different format’ challenge as well (half of the book being drawings)

Happy Reading

Em x

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

