The Muse by Jessie Burton Book Review

The MuseThe Muse by Jessie Burton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

                                     A picture hides a thousand words

I was giddy with excitement as I opened my pre-order of this gorgeous, buttered book. The book is unbelievably pretty, vibrant it just jumps off of the page. Looking back on it now I’ve finished, it’s nice to understand it and see things that are featured in the story.  Not only was it the second novel by Jessie Burton, it was following a highly praised first novel (The Miniaturist) so I just knew this novel couldn’t be anything but brilliant.

I was completely, 100% correct. The Muse, completely different to her first novel, but just as good, just as well executed and plain genius. We follow two different timelines, the 1960’s and the 1930’s. The strands that connect the two timelines is a painting, and blood. Mysteries unfold, and harsh events take place – and everything you thought you knew changed completely by the last page. As before, Burton’s writing was enthralling, her description of different cultures, especially of Spain was beautifully done. I could see everything and it had such a different feel and look compared to 1967 London.
Did I mention that there are two lead female characters in this?? AND MOST OF SUPPORTIVE ROLES ARE WOMEN?? YOU GO JESSIE BURTON!!! THANK YOU!

I won’t give too much away about the plot of this book, but it was an amazing read. Read in one sitting, it hooked me from beginning to end – and I can now say with confidence that anything she publishes, I will read. I will devour.

Just brilliant.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

