My Top 5 Summer Reads

Hey guys!

So while I finish my next book for review, I thought I would do my top 5 Summer reads as today is officially marked as the first day of summer – hooraay!

Meanwhile, Mother Nature may need reminding of that in the UK because I spent my first day of summer like this:

 

127

Anyyywaaaay it’s still perfect book reading weather! And it’s actually humid here which is a plus at least- so without further ado let us get this list going!

Number 5

Dumplin’ by Julia Murphey

If this book doesn’t make you want to put a swimsuit on, I don’t know what will! Laughter, love and full on character this book is a brilliant summer read!

18304322

Number 4

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Now normally, I would always pick Pride and Prejudice as my favourite Austen followed closely by Emma, but as the summer read pick I would pick this one. Follow three sisters, but mainly the older two in love, out of love and enjoying picnics and fine balls in London and living in their little cottage in the country. I love this book and it goes well on a nice hot day with some home-made lemonade.

sense-and-sensiblity

Number 3

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Now this will be short and sweet because as you guys know, recently I’ve become obsessed with both film and book! A tragic read, but a fun one for summer!

jojo-moyes-me-before-you-main-image-960x450

Number 2

The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien

I love this book, and even though the film didn’t live quite up to expectation (weep) the book is thrilling adventure and I love it. Bilbo Baggins, living in The Shire and going on a fantastic, dangerous, dragon & food filled journey. If you haven’t read this, please do – A childhood favourite and must read when you’re ready for summer!

Number 1

Now this one is a series but every summer I would re-read these and I won my first library book reading challenge with them. This series would be

*drum roll*

The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

They are so small, you can read all of them in one summer (Even a week or a day depending on how quick you want to be)

This series is phenomenal, it’s adventurous, quirky, dark but fun and it’s so great to read over a summer – you also feel really accomplished as well! Forget that it’s a children’s series, this is so much more and should be read by all ages!

Well I hope you’ve enjoyed my top 5 Summer Reads (I obviously have loads more,  but that’s just to give you a taster on the first day of Summer 🙂 )

Happy Reading and See you Soon!

Em x

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

