Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Review (Re-read)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

So my second book for the month of June was a re-read of a finale of my best loved series of all time. I read The Deathly Hallows in my preparation for Harry Potter & The Cursed Child which is released July 31st of this year- however this was so much more than a reread.

It felt like that moment when you get your favourite dish of food in front of you, it could be your favourite cake made by Mr Kipling from your local, it could be a seaside stop of fish and chips or it could be a home-made slab of treacle tart and you can’t wait to dive straight in and savour it.

Every page turn was a delight, I know the story inside out but still some things appear new. Ron’s snappy, hangry character in the woods always amuses me as does the radio network ‘Potterwatch’. This book wraps up everything we’ve been charging towards since the opening of the Philosopher’s Stone and boy does it feel like a storm. This book is nothing less than perfect, full of emotion, laughter, wit and full on adventure and terror.

I know I may be biased, being part of the Potter Age, reading the books since the first one graced our shelves with my mum in bed and waiting at midnight in Tesco for the release of the last. I am not just a fan of Harry Potter, I live and breathe it, I am part of the Weasley family, watching their clock, playing with the mischievous gnomes and enjoying Molly’s delights. I am a student, carrying too many books in my bag, casting charms in the grounds and finding mysterious creatures in the Forbidden Forest. I am side by side with Harry, Ron and Hermione, setting up camp to explore a new finding, infiltrating the Ministry and always getting into trouble. I am part of everything they do because Rowling made it so. This may seem off topic and I apologise to those who came here for a review and got a spiel of love but that’s what a good review for a book series is about isn’t it? And so to end this review on what has been a tear jerking, heart thumping re-read I leave you with a line every reader of Harry Potter will hold dear and that I will always believe in… Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home. – Always x

Em. x

P.S (Sorry just having a swig of tea – ah, much better) I am coming home from Whitby tomorrow, so expect my next post to be about my visit to the first  location they used for Hogsmeade station in the Philosopher’s Stone (Goathland Railway near Whitby) which was beautiful and nostalgic so check back for that!) Also my book haul will be filmed and up hopefully by Sunday! See you soon, guys!
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

