Dumplin’ Book Review!

Dumplin'Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow. I haven’t read a contemporary YA novel in a while…and this one blew me away. I laughed, I cried, I even hugged the book close- this was a a force of character to be reckoned with. I loved Willowdean, I literally feel like she is my book soulmate – I love her strength, her doubt, her honesty in her own feelings – she’s so real. This whole book played out like a film to me, I didn’t need to stop because it was getting too heavy- I literally had it glued to my face, even at work it stayed with me – Any five minutes I could get to read a few pages or find out what Willowdean was facing next. As a girl who struggles with her curves I really took to her and the principles this book offered. It was inspiring and really smack you in the face blunt with honesty. I love Murphy’s style of writing, she’s amazing at portraying people – I mean, some authors write characters who are out of this world, in personality as well as everything else. But Murphey writes real people – real lives, real heartache and I will never forget my time with Dumplin’. I think she’s now written with me, and I hope she stays with me for a long time yet. (I also thank Murphy for my recent downloads of Dolly Parton) Ladies, got a body? Put a swimsuit on it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

