The Girl on the Train Book Review

The Girl on the TrainThe Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Girl on the Train…..

Okay deep breath, here I go – So right at the beginning, the book was going super fast and I was taken along with it happy, and excited and full of expectation. And then after a few chapters we started slowing down. I kept pushing with it, I felt like it was a roller coaster you know? The ones with the steep build up and you know the rush is coming? Only the rush didn’t come and I was travelling across not up, slower and slower until I honestly thought I was at a stand still. I had to force myself to finish this book, and I actually preferred the POVs from Anna. I couldn’t stand Rachel, and the drink (I know that was one of the additions to her character but still I found it annoying and frustrating.)

Being set on the London train line I enjoyed, as it’s only half an hour away from home, so just having the closeness of that was nice.

The twist was good, but the ending felt rushed which feels like such a contradiction to what I said earlier but the pacing felt all wrong and I didn’t appreciate how it was done and hjghfjgh I had many frustrations.

I give this book a 2 stars out of 5 – unfortunately the main POV of Rachel was annoying, whiny and I really couldn’t stand her mindset. The pacing as I mentioned before, and just the lack of anything in the middle. And I felt there were a couple of loose ends which were just chucked in for the sake of it. For all the hype of this book, I was very disappointed – I was hoping for it to be so much better than it was. I wouldn’t say don’t read it, there were a number of good points to it (description of food seemed to come up a lot, especially with Anna) which I enjoyed as my guilty pleasure and the beginning was gripping as well as the twist. Well it’s done now, I can finally get off this slow slow train with a long, deep sigh.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

