My January wrap up and Feb TBR!

Hello Everyone!

So January has ended and we are nearly mid-way through Feb so this will seem kinda late but here you are! I have severe winter blues during these months so reading about other worlds and lands and characters is one of my escapes 😀

So for the month of January this is what jumped into my hands. (I am sad it was only three, but still it’s three more than none so that’s a good start 😀 )

Jan (1st week)

Assassins Creed ‘Renaissance’ by Oliver Bowden

I will seek vengeance upon those who betrayed my family. I am Ezio Auditore da Firenze. I am an Assassin…  

As mentioned on goodreads, I was not a fan of this book adaption from the game. It was slow, it was full of all the menial tasks you had to do in the game (feathers, boxes, paintings for Leonardo etc etc) and it just got tedious. Though what I will give it is the character profiles – especially for Ezio. I love him in the game, and as this book really doesn’t sway from the game in anyway this book held his character perfectly. Still only 2 stars out of 5 though, Sorry Ezio!

assasinscreed02

 

Jan (2nd week) 

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles)  by Marissa Meyer

A mechanic with no one to run to, nowhere to go.
But they will be looking for a ghost.

I heard about this re-telling of fairy-tales early on in December, and I had made it my mission to read the series this year – and during the second week of Jan succeeded in my start on the mission! I actually really enjoyed this retelling. New Beijing was mysterious it felt edgy and I really liked android/cyborg aspect of it – and the Lunars of course! I would give it a 4/5 rating, for the fact of it still being the girl who is the best mechanic, swooning still over the prince anyway even though swearing she’s not interested.. but it is a retelling of Cinderella so there really wasn’t anything else to expect from that.

Cinder+by+Marissa+Meyer+Book+Review

Jan (3rd and 4th week) 

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton 

I fight to emerge…

This book took me slightly longer to finish (work schedules and all that) but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I did my review on this down below in my last blog post so please check that out if you wish to know more! 🙂 Fantastic book though! Definitely my pick of the month!

dsc_7187

FEBRUARY TO BE READ!!! 

So many books to reeeeaaad, so little time to choose which ones! I am hopefully aiming for four this month, so fingers crossed as some are a little longer than usual!

 

  • The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins (Currently Reading)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline 
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (I am literally squealing about this book, I cannot wait to read it, I hope it lives up to my expectations – the second book also came out this week, it looked beautiful in my local Waterstones so if this book lives up to the hype I may have to slip and have it fall into my bag 😉

That’s all for now, but came back by Friday for my review on ‘The Girl on the Train’. Have a great week!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My January wrap up and Feb TBR!

Leave a Reply

